Sleep

Dear readers,

I haven’t done any updates in the space of a month. I apologise for this. To many who know me, martial status has changed from ‘having a girlfriend’ to ‘being engaged.’ Yes, Pamela is the lucky lady (or unlucky, which is probably what my brother and sister would probably say!). Friends back home know that I was back in the UK in the last month and it was wonderful to see you all. We were quite literally in all corners of the UK. To those reading who I couldn’t meet, I apologise. Three weeks fly by and it was so action packed that Pamela and I have joked that we need another holiday (I’ve had two weeks to recover the Challenge Anika like rush (but this was a loving rush with great people around us and less stress (if you discount Iberia Airlines faffing around with our flights))). Pamela has returned to work unfortunately. I’ve been busy with the business, immigration and starting a new novel for the past fortnight. Today is my second day back in ‘la chamba’, a Honduran way of saying work. It nice to see colleagues, but it’s a kick in the balls when I realise the next break will be December. I will write about our trip in the following updates.

Getting up today was hard and I still feel sleepy. So, I have written a little poem about my need of slumber. It’s just below.

Sleep

I’d love to sleep for a million years,
Soon after downing a million beers,
So I have no hangover or headaches vomit,
And my dreams are full of absurdity like doing rodeo on a comet.

I’m not a lazy person though it’s my first day back at work,
And having fun responsibilities is not the thing I like to shirk.
But going to sleep for an hour or two
seems more inviting than having a few,
Then waking up some time next week and walking through meadows with mellow morning dew.
So take special note of the colourful warning upon the knob of my door,
Which says, “If you make any noise here, my friend, I’ll make you’re kissing the floor!”

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

