Photo by the museum wall

Dear readers,

On Sunday, a large number of Pamela’s family, Pamela and I went to the MIN museum (Museum of National Identity) in the centre of the city. I’ve been numerous times to the museum, a grand old building which was the city’s hospital many moons ago. It has lovely tiled floors, beautiful old closed courtyards, curved staircases, with a very colonial air to it. There is also a permanent exhibition about the history of Honduras, a big TV digital thing about Copan Ruinas and various temporary exhibitions (‘yeah, like all museums’ I hear you say). Like most cities, Tegucigalpa has a thriving art scene (unfortunately that might be taken away with the new art tax coming in. Politicians aren’t content with creating big black holes to swallow up public funds; it seems they want the people to have no art outlet as well. Artists are poor as it is. Yet McDonalds, Burger King etc. get called tourist restaurants and don’t have to pay taxes – there is a petition that I will be putting online in the coming days).

Anyway, back out of the rant. Currently at the MIN they have something about women dressed in black and crying a lot which I didn’t understand but I think is related to Honduran folklore, there is an exhibition promoting the coral reef with various videos, a montage of Polaroid pictures of funny graffiti on toilet walls, a big ball of teeth, various nude paintings, a colourful gallery of painting from a Costa Rican artist who I can’t remember the name of, a newish cafe which sells good coffee and nice cakes (though it is often understaffed meaning that you have to wait a little for you food/drink) and an umbrella exhibition, which has lots of umbrellas attached to cover the street. It doesn’t work with rain. I was still getting very wet. But the umbrellas are very colourful and create many great reflections in puddles lining the streets.

Anyway, while outside having a beer, I took a picture of Pamela, which is below.

10576999_10154566923230515_5072732026211561443_n

I love this picture. She looks very much the beautiful person that she is. As always, I wrote a poem about it. Pamela will probably kick me because of the ending, but I hope you like it.

Photo by the museum wall

Seeing you backed to the museum wall,
Makes me want to undress you and watch you clothes fall,
Take you by the hand to the direction of my bed,
There’s no point in restraint with these thoughts within my head.

Seeing your smile and your eyes glisten,
Awaiting upon your words that I’m dying to listen,
“I love you, chichi, with all my heart.
“But right now, baby, I really need to fart.”

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

