Tour de Reino Unido – part ocho

Dear readers,

Sorry, I forgot to finish off writing about the Friday. Here you go.

Friday 11th July 2014 continued

Pamela had been obsessed with visiting the Sealife Centre for months. It was her chance to use Lola Flash, her Canon camera which she cares for and talks to as though it were her child. I have been a few times and always enjoy it, though these days I noticed the labelling was all over the place, with names for fish that weren’t in aquariums and no labels for some that were. Pamela did not give a flying fish about that though, and snapped her way through the entire place.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

After, we took a stroll down to Gas Street Basin and the Mail Box for a spot of lunch served by a less than impressed French girl at Cafe Rouge, but then later by a Portuguese guy who seemed a bit more experienced in the area of customer service that is called “look bothered.” We then went to Birmingham Art Gallery. I was very dismayed to hear that they had taken away the giant model of the tyranasauras rex which used to thrill me as a little boy; best thing there. My mum prefers the Edwardian tearooms. They’re nice too.

We then stopped by Waterstones near Moor Street Station, where outside the Bull Ring there was a big protest about Gaza. This fascinated Pam and she got all snappy with the camera again. Some were genuine protestors. Others were asian lads smoking dope making a mockery of the whole thing. Here’s some pictures from Waterstones nonetheless.

image

After that, I took her through the Bull Ring and down towards St. Martins Church.

image

We then took the train home. There was still my neighbour Marion to see who was pretty much my surrogate grandma. She would buy us chocolate and give us money at every special event, feed the budgies we had when we were on holiday, we would chat with her for hours (I still do when I’m home) and share her kind wisdom with us. She still sends me Christmas and Birthday cards to Honduras which I love. She fell with Pamela. I think Pamela fell in love with her too. She’s a lovely lady. Both of them are.

That night, we slept like babies on brandy spiked by sleeping pills. Suffice to say, we were knackered.

But back to the present, I’ve been feeling a bit tired and lost in the last few days. Pamela sent me this last night. It’s just a nice little prayer.

image

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

