The Mirror

Dear readers,

Mirrors. For narcissists they cannot live without them. A pessimist in the morning might want to snap it into tiny pieces and think of the seven years bad luck they will get on top of their already destructive thoughts. The average person goes through life looking into the mirror, not quite deciding how happy they really are, and just want to spruce up the material image which is their face. Sometimes in our lives, we are all three of these people. Maybe we should just use it to motivate us. It’s one of the strangest yet most simple inventions known to man.

Recently I have been questioning myself in the mirror. I guess now I’m nearly 35, mid-life crisis might be on the way. But this is a poem for those who judge themselves, every day, in a less than positive light. I hope you enjoy it.

    The Mirror

When you look in the mirror,
What do you see?
The person you want,
Starring back at thee?
Are the eyes vacant,
Or are they full of life?
Do they profess joy,
Or are they grey and strife?
Are the shoulders strident,
Or are they lax?
Is that person ready for the day,
To run a marathon or type another boring fax?
Have you given a compliment,
Said, “You’re doing well,”
To move on spiritedly,
If they don’t like where they dwell.
Be kind to the reflection,
And make it a habit,
Look at yourself like a lion,
And not a scared rabbit.
Calm the nerves in your belly,
Keep the tears in the ducts,
Put a smile on your face,
Say, “My life, I’ll reconstruct.”
Drink your coffee,
Eat your french toast,
Then think of the day,
And shout, “Of today, I’ll make the most.”

mirror

I’m including a song by the King of Pop, Michael Jackson. It’s four years since he passed away. I didn’t like all his songs, but there are one or two that live with me for life. Especially Man in the Mirror. Cliched, maybe. The song is more about changing the world. By using the mirror to change ourselves we can change the way we see the world around us. I will include the video below

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

