Tour de Reino Unido – Part catorce

Dear readers,

Wednesday 17th July 2014

This was the first day of not doing much. Doctors appointments and washing. My friend Niku was excited to see us, so we stopped for a coffee in Moseley, as well as a stroll around Moseley Park. I insisted upon visiting the Oxfam second-hand bookshop (I bought a Graham Greene book. Needlessly really. I’ve a million books on my shelf) and then we went to an Arabic cafe. I like going to Moseley. Friends who come to Brum insist on going. I miss Moseley Dance Centre. Cheap Red Strip beer and Christmas lights and the greatest mix of music, along with Refreshers sweets on the way out. The bohemian little village. I’ve had many a drunken night there and staggered back to Hall Green. Luckily intact. Today I wanted to impress Pam, two days after proposing to her, so we gave a session in Wetherspoons a miss. Like everyone who met Pamela, they wanted to know where Honduras was. Not in a rude way, but in a charmingly ignorant way that we Brits have mastered without managing to offend anyone. This time it came in the shape of a bubbly pharmacist.

It wasn’t a late night. After all, the next day, London was calling. As was my sister.

To celebrate this, here’s a song about London by the Pogues. It’s one of my favourites.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=41aOYa8SLLs

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

