Mum

Dear readers,

By the time many of you read this, it will be 2nd October, which is my mother’s birthday. I obviously miss being with her on her birthday, leaving me with a bit of a lump in my throat when I think the last time that I was with her on her birthday was 2010 – four years ago. We all have to go in our life directions, and if you asked me ten years ago that I would have moved to Honduras, I most definitely would have chuckled, while thinking, “Where’s Honduras?” My mum tells me not to worry about it and she understands that I’m following my but, but it’s kind of futile (but chasing my dream, mind): I really want to be with her on her 66th birthday. It’s a great mum, the best in fact. I just want to let her know that I’m thinking of her. I only wish that f–king Amazon had told me early that the present that I have ordered for her wasn’t due to be dispatched on 15th October, just two days before her birthday!! I really do need to find a better website to buy things from online: it’s ironic that this tax-dodging monster of a business calls itself Amazon when they have no bleeding care for the rainforest (apart from inventing the Kindle). I don’t want to start an Amazon rant, so I’m just going to finish with a little note to my mum, love you loads, and have a lovely break next week x

1475940_10154704065240515_6044862991598018897_n

Mum really liked Andy Palacio’s music when she came to Central American, the late Garifuna music maestro from Belize. We went to his village and met some relatives of his. Enjoy the music.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

