Tremor

Dear readers,

In my three or so years here in Honduras, I think I’ve felt tremors but then I can’t decide if it’s lorries passing by or if I’ve eaten one too many baleadas and I’m just suffering a bit of runny, gassy emissions.

This was a definite tremor. It took place on Monday night at roughly 10pm while I was doing some writing in the living room. The vibration took place over two minutes and the world literally rattled like lame fun house at a lame funfair. Consider it shaken but not stirred, nothing broke and there were no injuries (in my residence, that is, but in Salvador, an unlucky soul died when an electric pylon fell on her), nor did I feel in fear. The earthquake took place off the Salvadoran coast, 87 kilometres or so, and it was felt across Central America. Emergency services were expecting tsunamis but nothing much arrived, luckily, because Amapala would have been right its path. There is another earthquake due soon apparently, which isn’t a great surprise considering the plates are quite frequently nudging each other. Hopefully it won’t be any worse than that.

I can now say I’ve survived an earthquake in Honduras.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

