Tour de Reino Unido – Part diecisiete

Dear readers,

Sunday, 19th July 2014

Our bodies still a bit achy from the walking we did the day before, we were met by my sister in the hotel lobby. We had a nice long chinwag about everything and everyone in Starbucks. Pamela turned her nose up at the coffee that wasn’t Honduran, and Liz treated us to a giant muffin. In the previous 12 months, my sister has gone through a hell of a lot, and it makes me proud to see what a fighter she is. I don’t need to disclose what happened to her exactly. I’ll just say she’s grown because of it, become a stronger person. She’s now cruising Kingston on Thames in a convertible Audi (maybe not with the top down in November mind). Like I said, dead proud of her. Liz and Pam like to link up and bully me, which from knowing them both very well, doesn’t surprise me at all.

We then walked to the train station and passed some kissing lesbians, which shocked Pam. Not with disgust; just a cultural difference. I thought it was funny. Liz too. But laughter soon turned to tears when we had to wave goodbye. The next time we’ll be seeing Liz will be in Honduras, for our wedding.

We got the train to Clapham (I think?) which is where my mum once lived. We then changed to go to Victoria Station. On the way though, we passed Albert Bridge, which features in a Pogues song. I liked the song for many years and I made it a mission of mine two years ago, when I was in London for a Casa Alianza conference, to go and walk across the bridge. I was walking for a long time in the cold January rain, walking from Sloan Castle then along the banks of the Thames looking at the lavish West London homes. I did it, in the pouring rain. But I did it. Drenched. It reminds me of Skype conversations with Pamela at the time. Feels like a long time ago.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TejJDFt6Tkk

The next part of the day I’ll conclude tomorrow. Sorry, I’m shattered, but I’ll leave you with a poem that I wrote for Pamela earlier today.

image

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

