Resolutions

Dear readers,

First day back at work from Christmas break. No offence to colleagues, but it always comes with a bit of a heavy heart having relaxed and indulged too much. Pamela has worked straight through it. I’ve been fortunate enough to chill, which is necessary when working with kids. Parents don’t get holidays from that, but I’m not a parent (yet!), so I’ll live a bit more of this life of luxury. Santa was good to me, with a nice television, thank you to Pamela. I also received an interesting gift in the Secret Santa, courtesy of Pamela’s cousin Moisés, which was an Arsenal FC shirt; he is a big Henry fan. It adds to my great selection of football shirts that includes Moor Green, Valencia and Fluminese. It’s a cliché, but the best gift was love, as I bonded a lot more with Pamela’s family and I feel a lot more part of it.

image

I did work on the business (the website is pretty much ready), write lots, cooks lots, recover from hangovers, watched plenty movies and episodes of the American Shameless, the odd trip outside Tegucigalpa, set off lots of fireworks (burning Pamela’s cousin Alejandra in the process of experiments with empty beer cans and firecrackers, and a chance to plan next year, which will be a big one, so resolutions are a must, and it’s a great time to make them and create good habits and discard unhelpful ones. Mine are personal and I don’t feel the need to write them here, but they will weigh heavily on my spare time, so there will be less time to write this blog. I do go missing sometimes, so it won’t come as a big shock to some.

Here is a quick poem about resolutions, which I hope inspires you, as it does for me.

Resolutions

Stay true to your resolutions,
Don’t stray far from your goals,
When you go off track,
It’s hard to get back
On the journey of fulfilling your soul.

God is there for support,
Whether you want Him or not,
As are family and friends,
No matter how the road bends,
To push ahead with your goals.

Your objectives can be needs or wants,
Starting new or breaking bad habits,
Be aware of your greed
And then you’ll be freed
Of vices cleaning your path to success.

Give back what you take,
And thank those who help,
But don’t let your doubts break you,
Negative people too,
And be grateful for what you have along the way.

image

Less of this!!

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

