Time

Dear readers,

It’s been an age since I last wrote. Semana Santa saw me being baptised by the Cardinal of Tegucigalpa. Family and friends from the UK probably never thought that they would see that day. But time does funny things to people, and people stroll down avenues based on what life teaches them. Despite the criticism the Catholic Church gets, some of it fair, some of it isn’t, it’s a route I’ve chosen. Sins and confessing them will take some getting used to. But I feel it’s helping me kill some bad habits which I’ve had for years. But it’s not a time to look to regret the past. It’s a constructive way to embrace the future.

I was looking at some books at the library and see the dates that they had been rented by different kids. In some of the kids books there are names of students who I know and are now in 11th grade or have left, who rented books in 2009. To the kids, this is a huge chunk of time in their lives. It is in all of ours. But I charted my life back to 2009 and remembered that I was working in Refugee Council without a clue that I would be coming to Honduras, let alone marrying and living here. Time does funny things to people. I am going to include a photo of Gabriel Garcia Marquez (I am currently reading 100 Years of Solitude; many people on Facebook could not believe I hadn’t read it when I wrote it in my status). It has a nice quote, which I have dedicated to a colleagues because it is her birthday today, and I have also based a little poem on it.

gab6

Time

Time, like patience, is precious.

Retain it and use it wisely,

Look back to the past with a fond eye,

And the future will come more kindly.

Dates and ages; just life in numbers,

Thank that nobody can rate your own memories.

Experience and wisdom is what we live for,

Good or bad, they’re the stepping stones to our dreams and destinies.

End

Just a sad note. I heard that Eduardo Galeano died today. He wrote arguably one of the most important non-fiction books about Latin America, a book that I have been reading on and off for some time; Open Veins of Latin America. I recommend it. Hypocritcal to my poem above saying that age is just a number, he died at the grand age of 74. Let him rest in peace.

descarga

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

