I am

Dear readers,

I was given the idea to write this poem by a colleague. She teaches two high school students a couple of afternoons a week who struggle a little bit with their English. I taught the students a couple weeks ago while the teacher was away and I did a couple of Desert Island Disc activities (which is a great way of practising past tense; while also giving the students practice at expressing themselves). I also did a sensory poem about the sea, which I think the students enjoyed less, but it spurred the teacher to do some poetry writing on her return. She showed them a poem structure of the “I am” poem, another great way to express yourself.

Here is the pattern.

Screen_shot_2011-02-18_at_3.21.45_PM

So I thought I would challenge myself to write it myself. Here it is. Me laid bare!

I am

I am an impassioned yet delicate man.

I wonder up adventurous yet perversely absurd thoughts.

I hear words that mix my emotions in a havocking peace.

I see mountains that I’m still yet to climb.

I want to shred my mind from deviance.

I am an impassioned yet delicate man.

I pretend that I’m a rock star.

I feel that I’m a lazy tiger.

I touch my dreams yet I do everything to live them.

I worry for my parents faraway,

I cry when I think of people I’m going to miss.

I am an impassioned yet delicate man.

I know that the world probably started with God.

I say that science tells many truths, too.

I dream I’ll be a happy, millionaire writer.

I try to be popular yet not in the spotlight.

I hope for peace, no matter how much a cliche it may be.

I am an impassioned yet delicate man.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

