My Blood

Dear readers,

It’s the season for them. I hate them. I killed one the other day which left a small drop of my blood on my bedsheets. Unfortunately the damage had already been done. There were about four volcano like lumps on my arm, with a little crater of blood in the middle. I had no guilt of killing it. I hope it’s not a mortal sin.

Here’s a poem about them. Mosquitos.

My Blood

I feel your caressing touch

In the sultry dead calm of the devil’s hour.

Dehydrated, you lie next to me,

Rather than in the meadows full of fat cows and lush flowers.

I hear your deathly buzzing whisper

Hovering intimately above my ear,

Not for a second am I enticed by your wicked, wicked charm,

Though the effects of your bite fills me with fear.

I cover myself up of my nakedness

As I despise being touched by you,

Though you keep me up in a feverish angst,

What you carry I haven’t got a clue.

I barely feel your caressing palms,

There’s not a sound as you pierce my skin,

You leave without saying goodbye,

As faintly as a drop of a pin.

You leave me with a swelling pain,

Like a snap slap upon my skin,

And you’ve taken what you want from me,

Heartless, like a man made of tin.

When I get up in the morning,

I feel I have been lusted for but received no joy,

Tonight I will not forget to apply suffocating repellent,

That lube you will not enjoy.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance in journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and leave my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you'll find on this blog, as well as masses of information about all things Honduran. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a comment