Catholic Journey – Part Two

Dear readers,

So since April 2014, I have been going each Thursday afternoon after work to Espavel, learning about Catholicism taught by Juan Pablo. I am often shattered after a week at Dowal so I sit there half awake or reading, while my teacher turns up. It’s a two hour wait but I don’t care as there is a small, sweet, harminous chapel where I sit and pray, meditate or recollect my thoughts, especially after an afternoon of managing students with the school newspaper. I sometimes write this blog. There are lots of exotic trees around in the garden which has a millions misquitos seeking chele blood, as well as parrots squawking high up but not quiet at all.

Juan Pablo. He’s a lovely guy, a couple of years younger than me but he is a commercial lawyer with a young family. His sister is Pam’s colleague’s brother. He’s been great, very patient and calm, teaching the history and doctrines of the faith, the Holy Trinity, the sacraments and the prayers. We were reading a lot of the Three Minute Catechism, which is a wonderfully cartooned explanation of each part in bitesize chunks. I recommend it. It’s smart and good for beginners, children, teenagers and adults.

I will have to stop there right now. I’m very sleepy. I will try and do more tomorrow.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

