Catholic Journey – Part Three

Dear readers,

I still go on Thursdays. Circle time. We read the day’s reading, discuss topics like the importance of confession and the beautiful humility of the faith, a daily exam which puts things in perspective and that chance to ask ourselves about our actions. The peace it gives me, reslots the faith within me which life and work extracts. People often thinks the faith is all about feeling guilt, and sometimes, yeah, I feel it. But it gives me a moral compass. A guide to good living, so to speak. And I now pray to God everyday. Apologise for sins, thanking him for what I have and pleading to help me more. It has been an important change.

About October time, Pamela and I went to a certain church. I won’t say which, nor will I say who we spoke to. We don’t want to disrespect or cause gossip. We went to enquire about me being Baptised and Confirmed by the Catholic Church. The person we spoke to was a priest, but he was not at all impressed, especially when we told him that I’d been having classes at Espavel. He pretty much said we should go back there, and we did. Juan Pablo, my tutor, was in touch with Father Javier, a fantastic gentleman who is the spiritual director at Espavel. He is great. Loves zombie movies, reads Graham Greene and thinks Manchester has a great music scene. Opus Dei is known for its rigid and traditional ways, not always in the best of light thanks to Dan Brown (not that I’ve read any of his books (neither will I)). However, I have never met such a welcoming group and I feel touched with the way they have embraced me, inviting me to retreats and asking about the wedding plans.

To cut a long story short, Padre Javier helped organise it so I would be Baptised, Confirmed and recieve Holy Communion by the Cardenal at Semana Santa, one of the most important dates of the Catholic calendar.

This I will talk about in next update. Now though, I want to include a song by Coldplay called Midnight. It’s about not giving in at a time of struggle, fighting on when you feel alone and believing in yourself. Coldplay are brilliant. I don’t care if people say they’re too popular or they’re too stadia rock now. Chris Martin is great.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BQeMxWjpr-Y

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

