OHCA advert

Dear readers,

I forgot to mention. I was cast in a TV commercial for an organisation called OCHA, which takes injured or unwanted pets, rehabitates them so they can be adopted. It all happened very quickly. On one random Saturday evening in April, I received a desperate phone call from my mate Teresa Galeano, who used to do my job at Dowal School. They needed people from different cultures and backgrounds to help in a commercial, and they needed us the next day. It was to represent that, like humans, animals have different characters and personalities as well (or something like it). I knew that Teresa was passionate about helping and recuperating ill-treated animals, and so I was only too happy help.

Off we went after Mass to the Universidad Paedologica close to where I live in Las Colinas (though not for long) and were met by various dogs that were due to star with us. I was shown various pictures of how these dogs looked before, injured, some with bones sticking out and left for dead. There are no formal laws to prevent the cruelty of animals in Honduras. In fact OHCA have been campaigning for change, and there have been petitions circulating. I think congress are crapping themselves about illicit cheques exchanged between Nationalist politicans and the IHSS (Honduras’s NHS) recently. This might be a welcome distraction for them. Anyway, on a very hot Sunday with restless dogs and humans, and after waiting nearly two hours, we were finally called upon to act. The lines we were given were not hard, maybe not the best prepared, but it’s funny how easy they are forgotten when we have to say them on camera. My partner on screen was a girl from Vietnam, and there was also a guy from northern Honduras and a girl from the US. After various takes, we were done. Pamela was hungry, me too, so we went for lunch. Later in the week though, I received a phone call from someone in the organisation asking if they could re-record my voice as the microphones didn’t pick it up too well. I said yes but when I arrived at the said time, the badly organised production team wasn’t there. They ended up dubbing my voice. I sound a bit more Catracho by the day.

This should be on TV soon. It has been on in the cinemas. I have tried to add it but WordPress is doing it’s wholly best to ruin my greatest TV achievement to date. Here is a link to the Facebook page. You can see it there (so f–k you WordPress!).

https://m.facebook.com/OHCA.HONDURAS?refsrc=https%3A%2F%2Fes-es.facebook.com%2FOHCA.HONDURAS

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

