Propaganda – part 2 (my own sort)

Dear readers,

For those who follow me and know me best will know that I am something of a liberal, despite being Catholic which often gets criticized for being too conservative. I like to look at the good Catholicism does, in terms of loving “thy neighbour” and feeding the poor. You can’t agree with every point of religion or political party. That isn’t human. Some people might call me a hypocrite, having a liberal way of thinking, such as same-sex marriages and the use of condoms, which of course conflicts with core beliefs of my faith. But I do believe one can be both a liberal and a good Catholic (okay, an alright one).

When I say an alright one, I have been a bit naughty of late and telling a bag full of lies, scandal and gossip to spread harm and hurt on Facebook. Not only that, I don’t feel at all guilty about it. In fact, no. I will go as far to say that I have really enjoyed it. I am doing it to get back at the UK’s (and Donald Trump) Tory Party who is using the media to cause tell lies, bend truths and use false allegations to cause moral panic and spread fear into society about a new political figure in society who, I believe (and it could be me following for Corbyn’s propaganda), is a better option for the UK and the world as a whole. He aims to bring peace, not poverty or war, as the Tory party do. Yes. The attacks on Corbyn’s family, friends and ideas are aggressive, and just goes to remind me that this type of politics is a messy game and alienates people, keeping them ignorant and apathetic, which is exactly what the Tory party and the Establishment want. Control and fear.

Corbyn wants to change that, introduce people to politics, let them have their say, and some parts of the media (me included) is represented as something of a “Jesus” or “saviour” figure, bringing good will to the world. And I do believe he has a good heart. He might not be Catholic (he is probably dead against the religion). But speaking for myself as a Catholic, I identify with his caring nature in a “help thy neighbour” kind of way, which is a core belief in Catholicism. Unlike the Tories (the political figures, not the people. I don’t agree with what many Tory voters say, but I don’t blame them or judge them), who have not only turned their back on good-will, but for me, represent all the worst things about the religion, such as fear, guilt, and control. Scandal, lies and greed are also grave sins. You can see all this through the scorn they have poured on Corbyn. People are fed up of it. Sick of it. Putrid. Even people who voted for the Tories. They cannot stand to see this character assassination.

You might call me innocent or naive, but this is how I naturally feel. Cameron supporters might say that this is the nature of politics in dog eat dog world, survival of the fittest, etc. Fair enough, you are entitled to your view. Just look in the mirror and decide if you actually like yourself much.

Look at some of these images, as proof.

o-CONS-570

o-THE-SUN-570 Untitled

To be continued.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

