No Hay Nadie Como Tu – part two

Dear readers,

Yesterday I mentioned I’d been invited to a wedding taking place in England in October 2016. Since then I have been invited to another in Spain in June, which I will write about after I’ve spoken of the one in England.

Wedding three – Robert Handy and Hayley Allen

I was told that when one hits 30, they spend the rest of their weekends attending weddings, which is brilliant if there’s free alcohol. I have to get there first though. It’s the biggest drawback living so far away; it makes it very difficult to attend beautiful life events of family and friends. I’ve always dreamed of inventing a vortex where I can walk through a door and up in Brum. Picture that, spending a cultural morning in Valle de Angeles, then spend the afternoon getting wasted in Moseley. Or, at least, hauling the UK at least 5000 miles closer using a big tug rope. Back to the wedding, if I strike it lucky with a well-paid job soon, I’ll do my best.

Rob Handy is a great old mate from my days at Solihull Sixth Form College, which I attended almost 20 years studying a GNVQ in Leisure and Tourism. Only Rob entered that career out of our mates in the end. Due to him maturing at quite a young age, we all thought he would marry first. It turns out he was saving himself that little bit longer, and Mr. Malta seems to have met a lovely belle, who I’ve not had the fortune of meeting yet, named Hayley Allen. Judging by the photos, they look very happy and I trust Rob has chosen well. I hope to see them both in October. I know it’s wrong to mention exes in moments like this, but down the years I’ve observed from the sidelines Rob’s trials and tribulations with relationships, and I guess Stu and I always hoped he would strike lucky sooner or later, being one of life’s better people, and now it looks like he has. Sitting here chuffed in Honduras.

image

Wedding four – Sara Recuenco and Tío Pepe

Just to clearify, Tío Pepe isn’t his actual real name but a famous brand of Spanish sherry. Tío means uncle, but it is also a colloquial yet charming way the Spanish refer to their buddies. Sara didn’t tell me Pepe’s family name when she told me her happy news with a very early Monday morning WhatsApp announcement. Until then I will continue to call him Tío Pepe (as in buddy Pepe, as well as in the hope that he enjoys the odd tipple of this famous Spanish beverage which has a famous light-bulbed billboard sitting high at one end of Plaza Del Sol, the focal central point of the great city Madrid). Sara is a good old mate who I met at UCLAN, where she spent her eramus year studying journalism with another good friend of mine named Maria. Through my various adventures through Spain, the two have shown me around and get to know Madrid in the eyes of Madrideñas, something I’ve always been grateful for. I will try and make it. Like mentioned before, it’s the biggest drawback of living so far away. Sara’s had a long lasting love for Tío Pepe, and I think she’s fond of her fiance too (I’ll try to make that my last Tío Pepe joke in this blog post). They were novios at university for two years, and then rekindled their relationship later along the line, and are now ready for a life as one. I guess time apart helps realise what you mean to each other. I’ve not met Tío Pepe (although I’ve had shared many drinks with him. (Sorry, I couldn’t help one last pun)), but like Rob above, I trust she’s making a great move. Sara’s great, energetic, almost typically passionately Spanish, and I’m dead pleased for her.

Pepe and Sara are tying the knot on 4th June in a small town just outside Madrid. ¡Felicidades!

image

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

