Historias del Alero Tom y Otras Hierbas by Arturo Sosa

Dear readers,

This update largely applies to Hondurans, people interested in Honduras, linguists interested in the Spanish language, or people up for the craic. A lot then.

It’s about a book Pamela’s been reading, written by her former photography tutor. His name is Arturo Sosa and his book is Historias del Alero Tom y Otras Hierbas, meaning Stories of Buddy Tom and Other Herbs (herbs meaning stories; not food spices nor narcotics). He can certainly count literature and humour among his array of talents, judging by Pamela’s gushing report. Pamela was lucky enough to get her book signed by Señor Sosa while buying the book, along with a little treat for me (more about that later).
image

image

Since then, the only place to find Pamela has been within the pages of this charming red book boasting a sensual drawing of a woman on the front cover. Chuckles quickly turn to sniggers then to rolling around on the floor trying to recite lines she’d just read through throes of giggles like a crazed lady, while I watch on wondering whether to give her a tranquilizer.

It’s about Arturo Sosa’s gringo friend Tom who meets a Catracha. I don’t want to give you any spoilers. So I’ll shut up about the plot. But having cast my eye over it, there are some wonderful musings and Hondurisms which made me chuckle (after Pamela explained them, naturally). One in particular threw me, which is when someone says “dieciséis” – the number 16 – to mean “more or less of something”. I don’t get it either. Something like Tegucigalpa rhyming slang. Full of codes that only they know.

I won’t say more. I just recommend you buy it. Judging by the joy it’s given Pamela.

At the same time, Pamela bought me this beauty.

image

As Alan Partridge often gloriously says, “Back of the net.” Read this blog post. Maybe then you’ll realise how much I wanted it.

https://elcatracho1.wordpress.com/2015/12/04/10-favourite-books-part-20-honourable-mentions/

Not only that, I have managed to get my hands on a mug. Not any ordinary mug, but a Eduardo Galeano mug. 2016 is going to be good.

image

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

