Honduran Cockerel sent to prison

Dear readers,

Yes. You read that right. A cockerel has been sent to prison in Trujillo, Colón, in northern Honduras. Yep. Read it again. A cockerel; the national bird of France, was in the nick, the cop-shop, the slammer, the drunk-tank, whatever you want to call it. In the last 12 months, Leicester City has won the Premier League, Donald Trump has become President of the United States of America, Britons have voted to leave the EU (which might still be revoked) and now this. The world really is turning bonkers, like Alice’s Wonderland. Honduras is a country that never ceases to fascinate me, with its own version magic realism that even Gabriel Garcia Marquez wouldn’t have been able to fantom. 

But, here we are, in a country which many label the most dangerous in the world, where hardened criminals get away with murder, and corrupt politicians mix with them or buy condos in Miami, yet police are busy putting feathered creatures in prison, although the cockerel might prefer that to the destiny of ending up on some chump’s plate. This criminal, however, was unavailable to be interviewed and was more interested in plucking flies from mid-air while behind bars. No hunger strikes, no protests of “Libre el gallo“; just bemusement and giggles on social media.

Yes. I am exaggerating and deliberately mocking my adopted country. Cheeky, I know, but mockery is something that Hondurans are particularly experts at. If there was a World Cup in mockery, they would be champions every time. I am a novice in mockery to the average Honduran, so they can take these words with a pinch of salt. The story, of course, has a more to it, although it is still quite amusing.

According to the newspaper La Tribuna, it began with two neighbours fighting about a cockerel that climbed up a tree, and one of the neighbours threatened to kill it. Quite rightly, the owner didn’t like the idea of that, so they threatened the neighbour that if they slayed their cockerel, they would slay him. The heated discussion escalated into the warring parties brandishing machetes, at which point the police were called and put water on the fire by pretty much conviscating the cockerel, which still seems to be in custody. Watch this space, I suppose.

In other bizarre news (the newspapers are literally full of it everyday; I could be here all day if I were to include everything), a national league soccer referee has been arrested. The first thing that probably comes to your mind is probably corruption. Whereas English referees are usually accused of incompetency (remember the ref at Euro 2008 who awarded a player with three yellow cards?) or suffer trauma from Sir Alex Ferguson’s steely glares, and Italian referees are often caught accepting bribes for match-fixing, Honduran referees get caught for extortion. That’s right. Gerson Canales is to appear in court charged with extorting money from people. Who, I don’t know, and whether he is part of a syndicate or works independently isn’t clear, but I’m sure he won’t be refereeing any clasicos any time soon (unless it’s prison football).

That’s all for today, folks!

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

