Honduran cockerel sent to prison – part two

Dear readers,

Following on from yesterday’s post about the cockerel being sent to prison in Trujillo, Colón, the story has been the source of the upmost concern (or mockery) in the Honduran newspapers, being front page news, with headlines such as:

“Cockerel passes second day in jail.”

The case is now a court issue, as they are waiting the owner to pay a fine for “vagancia de animales” – which roughly translates into “not taking due care of animals”. It seems the neighbour who tried to kill the cockerel because it was always trying to climb his trees. The owner also threatened to kill his neighbour on Facebook. It seems that the heat doesn’t turn just cheles slightly coo-coo in this part of the world; Catrachos struggle too.

Sub-inspector in Trujillo, Orlin Sequeira, informed the newspaper La Prensa that the cockerel is being fed corn by his colleagues, and has all the water it needs. It has no name as far as I know, but Luis Osavas from Secretary of Security took time out to commend the police on their decision of imprisoning a cockerel to resolve this domestic dispute. 
Whether the cockerel knows of the trouble it’s caused is another matter. I like to think it does; poultry with a sense of humour. 
We await day three.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

