Honduran cockerel sent to prison – part three

Dear readers,

“Cockle-doodle-doo,” said the cockerel as it walked free this morning, 48 hours after being imprisoned due to a domestic between two machete wielding neighbours.

Remembering that one human year equals five chicken years, those 48 traumatic hours must have felt a lot longer for the cockerel. However, considering that most feathered animals in captivity are kept in small cages anyway, the cockerel might well have enjoyed his few days in the slammer. Journalists were met with an unsurprisingly blank reaction when asking the former delicious inmate if they could expect a prison diary any time soon, and equally unsurprising was the fact that animal rights groups had very little to say.

It seems the neighbours settled their differences in court, but it seems journalists couldn’t have given a flying baleada about the judge’s decision.

Now, on the outside, the cockerel returns to the every day threat of death from resident hungry possoms, snakes, iguanas, pit bulls, alsations, savage French poodles, and Pollo Norteño (a big poultry business in Honduras). 

Keep your eyes peeled for more ridiculous news happening on these shores.

About Nicholas Rogers

I am an English journalist/copywriter living in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and I have been here since 2011. I originally came to work with Casa Alianza, which supports street kids and vulnerable youths. I then stayed on, after meeting Pamela Cruz Lozano, who calls me her adopted Catracho. I work freelance journalism and I have my own translation business. Why did I come here? For the challenge, to open my mind and get out of my comfort zone. I love literature and I've written a book with street kids. I write novels, short stories and poetry, all of which you will find on this blog, as well as a lot of information about Honduras. View all posts by Nicholas Rogers

Leave a Reply

